Wednesday, 12 February 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (#21): Love, Lies and Lemon Pies by Katy Cannon

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted over at Breaking the Spine and gives bloggers the chance to highlight upcoming releases we're excited about. Without further ado, here's what I'm waiting on this week!

Love, Lies and Lemon Pies by Katie Cannon
Published: 5 May 2014 (Stripes)
Buy: Amazon|Hive
Plot summary: Love, Lies and Lemon Pies, the debut YA novel from Katy Cannon, is the perfect summer read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Louise Rennison. With a Bake Club recipe at the start of each chapter, this book perfectly captures the current appetite for all things baking! Lottie, our narrator, captures the experience of a young teenage girl navigating the world of school cliques, difficult teachers and new romance, creating a world that young readers are sure to recognize. Since her dad died, life hasn't been the same for Lottie - it was easier to push her friends away than cope with their awkwardness. But when the school suggest she joins Bake Club to get her back on track, Lottie reluctantly agrees. But Lottie's uncertainty about Bake Club melts away as she rekindles her love of baking and gets caught up with Mac, the school rebel and another unwilling Bake Club member. Both Lottie and Mac have secrets to keep, and as Bake Club progresses towards an end-of-year competition, the tension rises between the Bake Club members. Can Lottie keep up the facade of her perfect life without the others finding out what's really going on at home? Can Mac keep his demanding, heavy-handed father off his back - not to mention the school counsellor who's written him off as a no-hoper? And can their bubbling romance survive the pressure?

So I first heard about this one through the publisher's Twitter a while ago, and now it has a cover! And a pretty cool looking cover at that. I've just started baking and it's kind of taking over my life (and my kitchen), so I am all over a book that features baking.

What are you waiting on this week? Let me know in the comments!

1 comment:

  1. This one looks really cute. Seeing lots of yellow covers lately!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...